BHKJOURNAL_2016_00009: 18 Years Ago

18 years ago, a group of friends (my classmates), asked me this question, “If you were to die today, do you know where would you go?”

I answered quickly, “in heaven!” Because I have read already in the Bible that “whoever believes in Him shall not perish but have eternal life.” But reality sank when they asked me a follow-up question, “Are you sure?” From that moment, I give in, I am not really sure, I just read it and put the idea in my mind without taking it to the heart.

The moment I surrender my “intellectual thinking” of eternity, the moment God reigns in my life. He became the center of everything. The intellectual became spiritual and the happiness became joy.

Today, it marks the 18th year anniversary of the moment I accepted Jesus as my Lord and Savior. The moment I realized that more than putting eternity in an intellectual mode, it should be more of spiritual. Less of me, more of God. I am nothing but Christ gave up everything for me to have a real meaning.

18 years have passed, ups and downs surpassed, unfaithfulness even ruin some of the great plans and dreams, unfaithfulness I know hurt the Holy One but 18 years and counting, He is still faithful and just even if I am not.

Lord, thank you for being You.

All honor glory and praise belong to You.

Today, let me also lead you to a prayer similarly to the one I utter 18 years ago…

Heavenly Father . . . I acknowledge that the separation between us . . . is because of my sin . . . I confess that I have sinned . . . and have fallen far short of Your glory . . . I thank You that You sent Your Son, Jesus . . . to pay the penalty for my sin . . . I believe that He died on the cross for me . . . I believe that You raised Him from the dead . . . I am sorry for my sins . . . and I ask You to forgive and cleanse me . . . I want to turn away from everything the Bible calls sin . . . and receive You as my Lord, Master, and Savior . . . help me to love, serve, and obey You . . . for the rest of my life . . . in Jesus’ name . . . Amen!

“If you have sincerely prayed that prayer, the Bible promises that the old has gone and the new has come!”

Leave a Reply

