BHKJOURNAL_2015_0003: I Support Fasting But Not the Broadcasting of Doing It…

Hello everyone! =)

First of all, my apologies to those friends of mine who used to get “facebook likes” from me when you post your status but not this week when I see (DAYS1 – DAYS 5 hashtags with captions that you are fasting). I did not click the “like button” because of one reason that I will share later.

Another apologies for those people whom I didn’t answer when they asked me if I joined the corporate fasting. But for those accountability and prayer partners of mine, I have given the answer. Why I choose not to answer? It is still the one reason that I will share later.

I am not against fasting whether it is done by an individual or a group but I do not support the posting and broadcasting of an individual or groups that they are fasting. What is the reason behind?

My answer is simple:

I believe fasting should be done in secret and answers to our prayers or the results of the fasting should be the ones that must be posted.

16“And when you fast, do not look gloomy like the hypocrites, for they disfigure their faces that their fasting may be seen by others. Truly, I say to you, they have received their reward. 17But when you fast, anoint your head and wash your face, 18that your fasting may not be seen by others but by your Father who is in secret. And your Father who sees in secret will reward you.”

– Matthew 6:16-18

fasting

As we look at the picture, it says that “Fasting is a Spiritual Discipline.”

If fasting is a Spiritual Discipline, then we should be disciplined not to broadcast that we are fasting so that it won’t be seen by others and you already know what the Lord promised when you do it in secret.

Leave a Reply

