BHKJOURNAL2010_0010: A BIG THANKS TO MY 11-YEAR MENTOR…

The very first words that I asked in my first visit at Victory Baguio on August 15, 1999 was: “Is this victory?”

People welcomed me so nicely that lets me stay until the second service ends. I even went out for lunch with some of the people who welcomed me during my first visit.

At the end of the second service, they also connected me to this man…

GERARD T. MENDOZA

After a short talk with him, we set the schedule of our first-ever “cell-group” together. Also, my first in Baguio. In this very first meet with him, he wrote down our schedule because he’s so busy to meet people that week. After he wrote down the schedule in his paper, I told myself that I would also like to be busy meeting people.

After four days, we’ve met and only 17 years old by that time, I was the eldest among the group. Actually, Kuya Gerard was late in that meeting (hehe)… I told this not to degrade him but I want everybody to see on how this man has changed from glory to glory.

He helped us grow (our “cell-group”) in our relationship with God. Some became worship leaders, cell group leaders and other leadership roles that you could think of.  In short, he has played a major role in the growth of every individual under his turf.

After my first semester studying in SLU and being the only man attending the Lunch Prayer Meeting in that campus, Kuya Gerard told me to lead the campus the next semester despite the fact that I have fluctuating grades and being young. But he told me that I should set an example even though I am one of the young ones.

Another semester came and I have to leave SLU. I am happy that we have left great leaders in that campus like Jonathan Navalta, Romar Flores, Sherwin Sabado and Jeoffrey Valdez who are now pastors and some other leaders who became great leaders too in the places they’re in right now.

KUYA GERARD…

THANK YOU!

THANK YOU…

  • for being a good classmate in Victory Baguio’s VLI 1st Batch! =)
  • for coming over with me when I really need help to talk to the Deans of SLU so I could stay for another semester…
  • for always welcoming me back in the ministry after I took summer breaks and for always trusting me to take care of some people in spite of my long lay off from Baguio…
  • for taking the risk in putting me to your Leadership Group when I am supposed to go back to the outreach team. That’s a risky move but your brave move paid off…
  • for that night that you have invited me when you needed a company and you cooked for me, prepared for my bed and all the blessings that you gave me…
  • for always listening to me and giving me great pieces of advice…
  • for letting me stay in your home when I needed a shelter to live in when I return to Baguio so I could find a new work and for the great help that you have given me so I could survive living on mountaintop…
  • for giving some of your clothes, pants and other accessories that have been useful in my daily life…
  • for giving me the opportunity to speak, preach and give encouragements in some occasions especially to the youth…
  • for also trusting me in doing the productions that we need to spice up the services… in the past, you are all checking all the productions before it will be aired or performed live but during my “last” stays, you just let us do the stuff… thank you for taking the risk and fully trusting us…
  • for taking the risk in trusting me especially to the important events of the ministry such as Victory Weekend, Water Baptism, Empower Night and a lot more…

All of the things I have thank you for were just small percentage of the 11 years that we have been together…

Most importantly… I thank you for the friendship and for sharing your life with me in the past 11 years

Kuya, one thing na napamana mo sa akin… I still love to meet people and if that is the thing that would made me busy for the rest of my life, I would love to do so… I also love being in a small group… I still want to work with the Small Group Team… I wont stop planting seeds in the hearts of men! =)

BOTTOM LINE: THANK YOU SO MUCH!

As I end, I want to quote that Ate Pat wrote in her letter 11 years ago too.., “If you forget about me, you lost nothing but if you forget God, you lost everything.”

GOD BLESS YOU! =)

Again, thank you…

In the end, all of us would be together and we will raise our hands in Victory! =)

One thought on “BHKJOURNAL2010_0010: A BIG THANKS TO MY 11-YEAR MENTOR…”

Leave a Reply

